Honorary Freemen

Gerald's Scroll

At the January meeting in 2000, the Parish Council formally accepted the scroll which conferred the Honorary Freedom of the Parish of Hertford Heath upon Gerald Nix. Gerald is the third person to be honoured in such a way, the first two were Fred Harrington and Lillian Bean.

The late Fred Harrington who served on the Parish Council from 1947 to 1991 and was the first Chairman of the new parish of Hertford Heath formed when the southern part of the village was moved from Great Amwell parish and joined with Little Amwell.

Lilly Bean who, as well as serving for many years on the Parish Council was also a magistrate and Justice of the Peace, worked for the Over Sixties and the Horticultural Society, and was a School Governor at Hertford Heath school. Sadly Lily died on 25th April 2001.

Each freeman receives an illuminated scroll describing their contribution to village life and the scroll, created by Mary Bourne.